apply for a trade account
free uk delivery over £150
worldwide shipping Available
Quick Order
Trade Accounts Available

Ingredients and Allergens


We handle a variety of allergens on-site so we are not a 'Free From' site.

Our manufacturers also handle a variety of allergens on their sites, so whilst we will always highlight where an allergen is included in the ingredients (bold type) there may also have been exposure to other allergens during manufacture (classed as 'may contain').

Below is a list of the 'may contain' allergens:

  • Gluten

  • Nuts

  • Soya

  • Milk

  • Fish

  • Eggs

  • Peanuts

  • Lupin

  • Mustard

  • Sulphites

If this is a concern please contact us with your specific query, or for individual product 'may contain' information -


We often get asked what some of the ingredients are in our products.  Here is a list of some of the more commonly occurring ingredients.  We do list the ingredients on each product page, but we do ask that you check the individual specifications on each page to be certain of the ingredients included.

IngredientWhat it is
E100Natural colour isolated from the roots and stem of Yellowroot (Curcuma longa and Curcuma domestica). Turmeric is the crude extract, whereas curcumin is the purified compound. It imparts the yellow colour to curry powder.  It is a natural food colouring and can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians
E120Natural red food colour isolated from the insects Dactylopius coccus, living on different species of succulents.  As it is extracted from insects, E120 cannot be consumed by vegans and vegetarians and neither by some religious groups
E131Also referred to as Paten Blue V. A synthetic blue colour. E131 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.
E133Also referred to as Brilliant Blue.  A synthetic blue colour. E131 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians
E141A natural green colour, which is present in all plants and algae. E141 is commercially extracted from nettles, grass and alfalfa. Due to chemical de-esterification of chlorophyll, phaeophytins are formed.
E153Also referred to a Carbon Black.  Natural element, produced by burning vegetable matter. E153 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians
E163Anthocyanins and anthocyanidins are a large group of natural colours. The colour of most fruits, flowers and berries is made up from a combination of anthocyanins and anthocyanidins. Anthocyanins always contain a carbohydrate molecule, whereas anthocyanidins lack this molecule. The individual compounds are isolated from different plant species. E163(i)-(iii) are mixtures
E171Titanium Dioxide is a natural white mineral.  White colour for surface coating, used to separate layers in products; whitening agent in toothpaste
E172Iron Oxides are natural minerals, but commercially made from iron powder.
E174Natural Silver used for coating
E464Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose is prepared from cellulose, the main polysaccharide and constituent of wood and all plant structures.  It is used mainly as a thickening agent and emulsifier

Cellulose is the main polysaccharide and constituent of wood and all plant structures. Commercially prepared from wood. It has many different uses, mainly as thickening agent, but also as filler, dietary fibre, anti clumping agent and emulsfier.

E470bMagnesium salts of fatty acids.  Often used as a stabiliser or emulsifier.  Although mainly vegetable oils are used, the use of animal fat (incl. pork) can not be excluded. Several groups, such as vegans, Muslims and Jews thus avoid these products
E472Esters of synthetic fats, produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and another organic acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but also fats of animal origin may be used. The product generally is a mixture of different components, with a composition similar to partially digested natural fat esterified with other natural acids. It is used as an emulsifier and stabiliser. 



Sometimes listed on ingredients as E901.  It is a natural polymer produces by bees.   It is often used as a coating or glazing agent.   E901 can be used by all religious groups, vegetarians, as it does not contain animals. The wax is an exudate of the bees and so it is often not acceptable for Vegans.



Sometimes listed on ingredients as E904.  Natural polymer derived from the excretion of the Lac beetle.  It is often used as a coating or glazing agent.  E904 can be used by all religious groups and vegetarians (though some still prefer to avoid products containing it). Vegans generally avoid the product.  These are eliminated during purification.

Information Sources